The Photographic Portrait Prize is awarded by Dutch National Portrait Gallery. For the past five editions we did this in cooperation with Rabobank. Now we are focusing on developing a presentation institution, therefore the prize will not be awarded until 2025.

Previous winners of the Portrait Prize are Koos Breukel, Stephan Vanfleteren, Gerard Wessel, Annaleen Louwes, Sander Troelstra, Jitske Schols, Sarah Mei Herman, Sanne Donders, Martijn van de Griendt, Wouter le Duc and Robin de Puy, who won the prize twice.

Between 2018 and 2022, there was also an award for portrait photography talent. This was won successively by Peggy Kuiper, Annabel van Royen, Colette Lukassen, Bram Engelaar and Laura Chen.

The Talent Prize and the Photographic Portrait Prize are awarded by Dutch National Portrait Gallery to draw attention to the broad tradition of Dutch portraiture in photography. Winners receive substantial prize money and have a chance to be included and purchased by a number of major international art collections.


The jury is re-compiled every year and consists of noted professionals from the cultural field, such as an image editor, art director, curator, portrait photographer, gallery owner and museum director. The winning photographer of the previous edition is also part of the jury.


Participation takes place by being nominated by image editors, curators, critics and professionals in photography, who are asked by Dutch National Portrait Gallery to nominate photographers for the Photographic Portrait Prize. These photographers will subsequently be asked to submit a maximum of three portraits.

Professional photographers who have not been nominated can also submit their portraits themselves – again with a maximum of three. The jury does not know who has been nominated and who has entered without a nomination. Thus, every photographer has the same chance of winning.

Students and professionals who have been working as photographers for less than five years can submit a series with a minimum of three up to five portraits for the Rabo Photographic Portrait Talent prize.


The submission period will be announced halfway 2024. Please check our website and socials for updates.

©Wouter le Duc, Daniëlle Zawadi, 2022, winner Photographic Portrait Prize 2022